Skip navigation

I was hired by one of my favorite production companies (1st Ave Machine) to Lead Animate on a very interesting Budweiser commercial. At first it was just a hand drawn commercial, but then the client wanted it actually HAND drawn on actual napkins. CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

I then spent the next 2-3 weeks producing and planning a very complicated hand drawn animation that would eventually go onto napkins and then stop motioned on top of that! HOW COOL. I was even asked to help with the stop motion (swoon), but I had to go jury at the Ottawa International Animation Film Festival (swoon).

We also had a very talented 3D animator on hand that worked with me. It was again, very complicated. I wish we had documented it!

The process went something like this:

-2D animation on FLASH

-the 2D then was transferred onto 3D maya software. It was then composited. We stared at it to make sure it looked about right. OH. I also had to make tiny squares and frame each bit to make sure each square was on the napkin and was animated correctly. I hope that makes sense.

-After that and after the animation was approved by the client, we printed the frames via a printer frame by frame.

-We then traced each frame onto individual cocktail napkins with specific markers.

-At some point I had realized, oh gee, I cannot do this on my own, I should probably have help, and luckily I did! Thank goodness, otherwise it would not have gotten done!! Good thing the Director, Producer and team were amazing. Shout out to the amaaaazing stop motion animator. He reaaally really knew his stuff.

I hope to make more fine art oriented stuff! Here’s to you, 2016!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4s7vkVEt4U

Leave a Reply

